Skip to Content

NSW School Holidays and Terms 2021

NSW School Holidays and Terms 2021

Get a head start on your holiday and day trip planning for Sydney and New South Wales with our handy list of NSW school holidays and terms for 2020 and 2021.

Terms are the same for western and eastern division public schools. However, the first term with the western division typically starts a week later.

School development days occur at the commencement of terms 1, 2 and 3, and the final two days of the NSW school calendar year.

Don’t miss our summary of NSW public holidays to help you make the most of the upcoming days off this year and next year.

NSW School Holidays and Terms 2021

See the calendar for the 2021 NSW school holidays and terms:

Period Start Date End Date Length
Term 1 (east) Wednesday 27 January Thursday 1 April 10 weeks
Term 1 (west) Wednesday 3 February Thursday 1 April 9 weeks
Autumn holiday Friday 2 April Friday 16 April 2 weeks
Term 2 Monday 19 April Friday 25 June 10 weeks
Winter holiday Monday 28 June Friday 9 July 2 weeks
Term 3 Monday 12 July Friday 17 September 10 weeks
Spring holiday Monday 20 September Friday 1 October 2 weeks
Term 4 Monday 5 October Friday 17 December 10 weeks
Summer holiday (east) Monday 20 December Thursday 27 January (2022) 5 weeks
Summer holiday (west) Monday 20 December Thursday 3 February (2022) 6 weeks
Looking for inspiration for your next day off? Click here to read our unique Sydney and NSW travel ideas

NSW School Holidays and Terms 2020

See the calendar for the 2020 NSW school holidays and terms:

Period Start Date End Date Length
Term 1 (east) Tuesday 28 January Thursday 9 April 11 weeks
Term 1 (west) Tuesday 4 February Thursday 9 April 10 weeks
Autumn holiday Friday 10 April Friday 24 April 2 weeks
Term 2 Monday 27 April Friday 3 July 10 weeks
Winter holiday Monday 6 July Friday 17 July 2 weeks
Term 3 Monday 20 July Friday 25 September 10 weeks
Spring holiday Monday 28 September Friday 9 October 2 weeks
Term 4 Monday 12 October Friday 18 December 10 weeks
Summer holiday (east) Monday 21 December Tuesday 26 January (2021) 5 weeks
Summer holiday (west) Monday 21 December Tuesday 2 February (2021) 6 weeks